Living in Switzerland – Information and counselling online  

Insurance

In Switzerland, you can take out insurance against a number of risks and dangers to life, health, property and goods. Some types of insurance cover are compulsory, others are optional.

Insurance companies pay out to help with the financial consequences in case of a "harmful event". A "harmful event" is something that is impossible to predict. We do not know when or if it will ever happen.
Insurance funds are based on the “solidarity principle”.   This means that a large number of individuals pay regular premiums into a fund, which are then used to provide specific benefits to any member who suffers damage or loss. 
You can take out insurance against personal injury, material damage or financial loss.

Premiums

Premium costs are calculated on the estimated cost of expected damages, plus the insurance company’s administration costs. That is why premiums can vary significantly between insurance companies and between different types of insurance contract.
In certain cases, your actions can influence your premium levels. For example, drivers who never have an accident pay lower premiums on their vehicle insurance (no-claims bonus).
Please note!
Insurance companies may exclude an insured person if he/she does not pay premiums on time. If the insured person does not respond to a written reminder, the insurance company is no longer bound by the contract and does not have to pay any indemnities.
 
 

In this section: Household insurance, Personal third party liability insurance, themen/versicherungen/motorfahrzeugversichrung

Related links:

Vivre en Suisse: Information et conseil en ligne  

Assurances dommages

En Suisse, nombre de risques et de dangers pour la vie, la santé, la propriété et les biens peuvent faire l’objet d’une assurance. Une partie de ces assurances sont obligatoires, d’autres sont facultatives.

Les assurances couvrent les suites financières d’un « événement nuisible ». On définit un « événement nuisible » par le fait qu’il est impossible de prévoir s’il arrivera, ou si on sait qu’il peut survenir, quand il arrivera.
 
Les assurance sont donc des communautés de risques. Afin d’aider le cas échéant les sinistrés, tous les assurés apportent leur contribution sous forme de primes.
 
On peut assurer des personnes, des biens ou les pertes de patrimoine.

Primes

Les primes ne sont pas uniquement calculées sur la base des dommages futurs estimés. Elles sont aussi déterminées par les coûts administratifs. C’est pourquoi elles peuvent varier fortement d’une compagnie d’assurance à l’autre ou d’un genre de contrat d’assurance à l’autre..
 
Dans certains cas, les primes peuvent être influencées par le comportement de l’assuré-e. Ainsi les automobilistes qui conduisent sans accident paient moins de primes.
 
Attention !
Les compagnies d’assurance peuvent exclure un assuré de l’assurance s’il ne paie pas sa prime à temps après un rappel par écrit. A l’expiration du délai de rappel, l’assurance n’a plus l’obligation de  fournir des prestations et donc de payer des indemnités.
 

Autour du thème: Assurance ménage, Assurance responsabilité civile, Assurance véhicule

Liens: