Living in Switzerland – Information and counselling online  

Women

The problems and issues which women face in Switzerland are closely related to their personal circumstances, and this is also true for migrant women. Key factors include education, employment, the family environment, finances, and motherhood.

Today in Switzerland women basically enjoy the same rights as men; however, they are still under-represented in all sectors of society, earn on average significantly less than their male colleagues and perform the bulk of the family and household tasks. Migrant women moreover frequently experience double discrimination, both as women and as foreigners.

Switzerland’s progress towards gender equality has been slow over recent decades, but the results are nevertheless tangible:
  • the drive for equality in child, matrimonial and divorce law aims to foster a relationship between women and men based on partnership
  • achievements in fields such as reconciling work and family life, maternity benefits, equality in the work place, and the old age and survivors’ insurance scheme are designed to strengthen the position of women and mothers
  • legislation and other measures tackling domestic violence and protecting women against sexual assault serve to safeguard women’s physical and psychological integrity and to further their right to self-determination.

In recent years Switzerland has also made progress in protecting women with migrant backgrounds:
  • since October 2012 a national action programme has been in place specifically to combat human trafficking. The improved protection of victims and witnesses is of particular help to women forced to migrate and then enslaved in the sex industry
  • in the summer of 2012 the Swiss Parliament adopted a Federal Act containing measures against forced marriages
  • in July 2012 an article (Article 124) explicitly banning female genital mutilation was added to the Swiss Criminal Code.

It is vital that all women living in Switzerland take advantage of these achievements, claim their equal rights and play their part in furthering gender equality.

In this section: Counselling services for women, Career, Gender equality , Domestic and sexual violence, Women's organisations, Forced marriages, Trafficking of women, Crisis situation, Female genital mutilation, Support for victims

Related links:

Vivre en Suisse: Information et conseil en ligne  

Femmes

En Suisse, les problèmes auxquels sont confrontées les femmes et les questions qu'elles se posent sont étroitement liés à leur situation personnelle, y compris pour les migrantes. L'éducation, l'emploi, l'environnement familial, la situation financière, la maternité sont des facteurs clés.

En principe, les femmes disposent aujourd'hui des mêmes droits que les hommes. Néanmoins, elles demeurent sous-représentées dans tous les secteurs de la société, gagnent en moyenne beaucoup moins que leurs homologues masculins et effectuent la majeure partie des tâches familiales.  Les migrantes sont souvent victimes d'encore plus de discriminations: en tant que femmes et en tant qu'étrangères.

Bien que les progrès en matière d'égalité aient été lents en Suisse ces dernières décennies, il y a tout de même des résultats visibles :

  • La notion d'égalité concernant le droit de l'enfant, le droit du mariage ou du divorce, vise à une relation de partenariat entre les femmes et les hommes.
  • Les réalisations dans les domaines de la conciliation entre vie professionnelle et familiale, de l'assurance maternité, de l'égalité dans les postes de travail ou de l'AVS, ont en point de mire la force économique des femmes et des mères.
  •  Les mesures et les lois contre la violence domestique et la protection contre les agressions sexuelles afin de protéger l'intégrité physique et psychique des femmes et de promouvoir leur auto-détermination.  

Ces dernières années, la protection des migrantes a également fait des progrès en Suisse :

  • Depuis Octobre 2012, la traite d'êtres humains est combattue grâce à un programme d'action national. L'amélioration de la protection des victimes et des témoins touche principalement les migrantes qui sont réduites, par la force, en esclavage dans le commerce du sexe.
  • En été 2012, le Parlement suisse a adopté la loi sur les mesures de lutte contre les mariages forcés.
  • Depuis Juillet 2012, il existe également dans le Code Pénal Suisse, un article explicite contre les mutilations génitales (article 124).

Il est important que toutes les femmes vivant en Suisse utilisent ces acquis pour elles-mêmes, qu'elles les exigent et aident ainsi à promouvoir l'égalité entre les femmes et les hommes.


Autour du thème: Services de conseil pour femmes, Vie professionnelle, Egalité entre femmes et hommes, Violence domestique et sexuelle, Organisations féminines, Mariages forcés, Traite de femmes, Agir en situation de crise, Mutilations génitales féminines, Aide aux victimes

Liens:

Retour